It is generally a good idea to do a clean install of Microsoft Windows rather than upgrade from one version to another. SecureAge Technology recommends doing a clean install of Windows 10 to facilitate a better PC security configuration.

If a clean install is not a viable option for SecureAPlus users the direct upgrade options is supported by SecureAPlus but please keep in mind the following when upgrading Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 8.1 to Windows 10.

How to Safely Upgrade to Windows 10 with SecureAPlus

Uninstall SecureAPlus

Users may experience constant prompting from Application Whitelisting after successfully finishing the upgrade to Windows 10. This is due to changes that are being made to support the new OS that are not yet trusted by SecureAPlus.

To avoid this, it would be best to temporarily uninstall SecureAPlus from your pre-Windows 10 PC for best results.

How to Uninstall SecureAPlus

Start the Windows 10 Upgrade

After finishing the uninstallation process and rebooting once SecureAPlus has been installed, you can begin the upgrade process from your current OS to Windows 10.

Reinstall SecureAPlus on Windows 10

It is generally best to reinstall SecureAPlus on an newly upgraded Windows 10 PC as soon as it has finished doing all the critical updates for the new OS.

Download and launch the SecureAPlus installer and follow all the installation prompts. Once installation has been done, let SecureAPlus setup the application whitelist by letting the Full System Scan finish.

What is the Initial Full System Scan?

What if I already Upgraded to Windows 10 without Uninstalling SecureAPlus First?

As soon as you boot to into the new Windows 10 OS, SecureAPlus will begin prompting for untrusted files that are constantly being changed/added by the upgrade process. Generally either Universal AV or Virus Total diagnosis will categorize this as clean and it should be safe to unblock and trust it. This behavior can persist multiple times immediately after an upgrade to Windows 10.

Users that are bothered by this can still choose to temporarily uninstall and reinstall SecureAPlus. Do note that this will initiate another Initial Whitelisting process but it should prevent any constant prompting as by the time the Initial Whitelisting is done, the changes that are being done relative to a Windows 10 have all been included in the whitelist.

This post is also available in: Japanese